Tra-dish-ons

I love our family traditions. They almost all relate to food, which is ok by me. Meet Siren’s Chocolate Cake. My grandmother made this cake all when I was growing up, and now Mom makes it for almost every holiday. I believe the recipe was originally found in the Memphis Junior League cookbook. 

Image

 

Another tradition my sister and I started is having a piece of said cake for breakfast on the morning after Thanksgiving. Yep, you heard me…..breakfast. 

Image

With Dad hailing from New Orleans, some of the traditions are from there also. Like these bad boys. Beignets. Need I say more?

Image

Yum. 

Dad also serves his gumbo on Thanksgiving as well as Christmas. Does it get any better? 

One thought on “Tra-dish-ons

Leave a Reply

